MrVanDigital Mix Collection

12. Dubsteppin'

Saturday Apr 23, 2011

Dubstep.   Well, I just couldn’t resist. I’ve been putting together a fine collection of dubstep floorfillers for a while now and decided it was time to put a best of mix together. This is my first attempt at dubstep mixing and it was a lot of fun. These 17 tunes represent some of the real bangers of dubstep from the last year or so. The Magnetic Man trio of Benga, Skream and Artwork, plus Nero and Skrillex represent some of the most dynamic and freshest producers of bass heavy electronic tunes of today. Long may this dance music renaissance continue…   Reso – Octacon, Magnetic Man – The Bug, Katy B feat. Ms. Dynamite – Lights On (Skream Mix), DJ Fresh – Gold Dush (Flux Pavilion Mix), La Roux – In for the Kill (Skrillex Mix), Skrillex – Equinox, Skream – Auto-Dub , Black Eyed Peas – Rock That Body (Skrillex Mix), Redlight feat. Roses Gabor – Stupid, Dizzee Rascal – Bonkers (Doorly Mix), Magnetic Man feat. Ms. Dynamite – Fire, Katy B – Katy on a Mission (Benga Mix), Leon Jean Marie – Bring it on (Rusko Mix), Nero – Innocence, Plan B – The Recluse (Nero Mix), Skream & Example – Shot Yourself in the Foot Again, Magnetic Man feat. Katy B – Perfect Stranger (Benga Mix)

11. March Madness (For Ed, Jez & Jody)

Thursday Apr 14, 2011

Indie/Deep House/Techno.   After a few year hiatus from mixing, it was a Facebook posting by my old uni buddy, Jez Gibson of Jody Wisternoff’s ‘Intensified December’ Soundcloud mix that got me back listening to and thinking about tunes again like a DJ. In fact, listening to Jody’s mix really got me back into that deep & melodic, fluid house sound. This is definitely the sound I’m aiming for here once the first few intro tunes are out of the way. The mix was recorded at the end of March 2011 and is dedicated to the aforementioned Jez, Jody and another fantastic DJ & uni friend, Ed Massey who has become my long lost DJ pen pal friend across the Atlantic.   Phonique feat. Erlend Oye – For the Time Being, Phonique – The Red Dress (Tiefschwarz Mix), The Hundred in the Hands – Pigeons, Flowers & Sea Creatures – A.M. (Ewan Pearson Re-Edit), Chymera – Ghosts, Ofrin – How Come (Phonique & Tigerskin Mix), Tigerskin – Everybody Likes Ollie, Phonique & Tigerskin – Shea’s Gone, Phonique feat. Ian Whitelaw – Our Time, Our Chance (Andre Lodemann Mix), Rufus – We Left, Benoit & Sergio – What I’ve Lost, Yuno – California (Phonique Mix), Runaway – The Fire Below (Azari & III Mix), Lil’ Mo’ Yin Yang – Reach (‘Little’ ‘More’ Mix), Francois Dubois & Master H – Rise (Chymera Mix), Ryan Davis – The Wolve (Max Cooper Mix), Funk D’Void – Diabla, Reso - Abyss

Copyright © 2014-2021 Andrew Jackson. All rights reserved.

Podcast Powered By Podbean